top of page
jessicadai1018

Reading 3

"Dear Angelica" astounded me with its innovative approach to VR storytelling, truly pushing what I believed were the boundaries of narrative and artistic representation. The scenes were like living illustrations, making me feel as if I was diving headfirst into an animated painting.

When I think about the "Voices of VR" discussions on storytelling, I'm reminded of the sensation of "being there" that "Dear Angelica" evoked so effortlessly. Unlike traditional media that often kept me at arm's length, this story made me feel like I was part of its world. Its abstract, dreamlike quality didn't push me away but instead drew me closer. The story taught me that narratives can be abstract yet deeply relatable and impactful.


One specific scene that has stayed with me is when Angelica and her mother, floats in space surrounded by stars and celestial wonders. As I navigated this VR space, I was able to move around her, watching as the illustrative strokes shimmered and transformed, creating a vivid tableau of memories and moments shared between mother and daughter. The balance between realism and artistic abstraction in "Dear Angelica" intrigued me. A story too tethered to reality might have lost its ethereal charm, while one too abstract might have felt disjointed. But "Dear Angelica" struck a harmonious chord, proving that stories can transcend reality and still leave a lasting impression.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading 11

Beyond Reality to Imagination: Every immersive experience should transcend the bounds of reality, propelling users into realms of...

Comments


bottom of page